Woah! I missed you guys (also…zombie books!)

Cover of "The Dead-Tossed Waves (Forest o...

Oct 13: The Forest of Hands and Teeth

Oct 13: The Forest of Hands and Teeth (Photo credit: andtara)

Hey everyone!

I’m sorry I’ve been MIA. There have been several last minute trips, projects, and summer activities for me to attend to, so my blogging fell down my list of priorities. (I’m sorry, but there were roller coasters involved…. I love roller coasters.)

But regardless of my temporary lapse in prioritizing goodness, I’m here now!

And boy do I have some books and stuff to tell you about!

Let me begin by saying that I am a chicken…. a big baby when it comes to horror stories.

So in high school, maybe three years ago, I read The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan, which is about a girl named Mary and her friends who live in the future, after society has fallen, in a time when the Unconsecrated (who are basically zombies) roam the earth. Mary is always told that her village is the only surviving town, that the rest of the world is filled only with Unconsecrated and the Forest.

Through a series of exciting and terrifying events Mary’s village is breached, and she and her friends end up on secret paths lined with chain link that lead through the Forest.

This book horrified me. Really. There were nightmares…but it was also really well written and completely engrossing. So much so that this summer, when the nightmares finally subsided (just kidding…mostly), I decided to pick up the second book in Ryan’s series, The Dead-Tossed Waves.

This one is from the perspective of Gabry, Mary’s daughter, who lives in Vista, a small town on the shore and one of the few remaining human settlements. When Gabry agrees to jump the fence that surrounds her town with a group of friends to explore an abandoned amusement park, things go terribly wrong. A breaker, which is an Unconsecrated (or Mudo) who Returns when there aren’t any other Mudo around and so is much faster than a normal zombie guy, attacks them, shattering Gabry’s world.

Things happen. Big things. Important things. ‘Read it’ things.

Two days ago, lounging on the couch next to boyfriend at a very lovely little lake house, I finished the third and final book in the series. (good thing too because boyfriend was tired of being ignored šŸ™‚ heehee)

I want more….

So what are you waiting for? Go! Read!

Related articles
1 Comment

Filed under Books to share, sharing about other people's stories