Teen Screens: ‘The Mortal Instruments

Teen Screens: ‘The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones’ successfully translates to the big screen – The Red and Black : Variety.

This movie is AWESOME…there’s really no other way to say it.

My review, on the Red & Black newspaper website, is also pretty great.

So, if you read the review (which you really really should) you’ll get the gist of what I thought about the movie, and the very fact that I’m blogging frantically means that I LOVED the book (and Cassandra Clare, and every word she’s ever written). So I won’t just rewrite my review, but I will hit some high points I didn’t get to.

Clary’s mom ROCKS. When she is kidnapped by Valentine’s goons, which we don’t get an actual description of in the book due to limited perspective, she puts up a hell of a fight.

Simon, played by Robert Sheehan, is HOT. In a geeky, adorable, sweet way. Jace (played by Jamie Campbell Bower) is attractive too, but he was supposed to be. Sheehan took me by surprise.

Magnus looks perfect, but I wanted a little more sass from him. He’s supposed to be flamboyant and debonair and sassy.

Also, I touch on this a bit in the article, but VALENTINE IS SUPPOSED TO BE BLONDE!!! HE IS BLONDE. NOT A DARK HAIRED HIPPIE WITH BRAIDS AND AN EGO COMPLEX.

I mean he DOES have ego issues, but he has deeper motives in the book than in the movie.

BUT, aside from Valentine’s horrible shortcomings, and some general deviations from the plot of the book (which make me wonder how sequels will work) the movie is great, the casting is great, and I’m in sickly, dreamy, fangirl love.

Read the article (pretty please). Read the book (if your life is sad and you haven’t read it yet). Watch the movie. Love life.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Books to share, sharing about other people's stories

One response to “Teen Screens: ‘The Mortal Instruments

  1. Pingback: My First Soire | A Fan of Fiction

Leave a Reply

