Every Day by David Levithan

Every Day by David Levithan is a fantastic and heart wrenching story about A, who wakes up each morning in a different person’s body, borrows them for a day, and is wrenched from them at midnight leaving them none the wiser. A tries hard to stay within the normal parameters of the body’s daily life, and A challenges himself to be as moral as possible considering his nature. I say ‘his’ only to simplify things. A has no body of his own, and therefore no gender. He could wake up each day in the body of a girl or a boy, gay or straight, transgender or otherwise. A lives with this fairly well, making games out of how well he can get through the day with as little of his body’s memories as possible, until he falls in love.

This is an amazing book. It made me examine my thoughts and mindsets about gender a bit, but that isn’t its main goal. Levithan has written a book about life, love, morality, gender, identity, and consciousness. It’s interesting, riveting, and entertaining in all the right ways. I finished it in two days, and I think you should go, read it. Now.

4 Comments

Filed under Books to share

4 responses to “Every Day by David Levithan

  1. Pingback: Still Fangirling about Rowell and Levithan | Sharing Stories

  2. I got this book for Christmas and this review has made me even more excited to read it. It’s one of the few books of Levithan’s I haven’t read yet. (: Have you read any of his other books?

    • I’m glad you liked it! I haven’t read anything else by him, but I’d really like to! Which would you suggest next? 😀

      • You’re more than welcome, lovely. (: Ooh, sure! My personal favorites are “Love is the Higher Law” and “Will Grayson, Will Grayson”, written with John Green. I highly recommend those two for starters. (:

Leave a Reply

