“Afterworlds” by Scott Westerfeld blew me away

So, if you are unfamiliar with Scott Westerfeld I must request that you pause, open another window, order all of his books, and then return to this blog post. Your life is now better. You’re welcome.

If you ARE familiar (good for you) you may be aware that he recently released a new novel called Afterworlds.
I’m ashamed to admit that I didn’t know it was out. I walked into my favorite local book shop (Avid) and was browsing aimlessly as I am apt to do when I saw it. Boyfriend was unphased by my excitement because he. doesn’t. understand.
But I had no choice. Sad little undergraduate student budget be damned. I had to have it.
And then I started reading, and it was totally worth it (even if ramen is going to be on the menu for a few days ;)).
Not only is it a good, well-written story… I expected that from my old friend Scott Westerfeld. I love his work. I know that. So that wasn’t the surprise. It wasn’t the best part.
The best part was that it made me want to write.
It’s been a while since I was truly motivated to write. Since, walking down the street, I started spouting scene ideas ( thoroughly confusing Boyfriend). It is glorious. So thanks, Scott Westerfeld. Thank you very much.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books to share, sharing about other people's stories, Thoughts on writing

Leave a Reply

